Window to the sun - sky, etc opinions!

Hello again! I just finished this image (is any image really “done” though?). It’s a stack of 3 images: 2 to compensate for the unavoidable sun flare and another to get the window view focused and exposed correctly. It’s my most technical edit to date. I’m looking for some feedback about about a few things:

1. Blend - Does everything look ok in the image technically? Any weird spots I can’t see?
  2. Sky - I know the sky is a little blown out. I have another image I can blend in but might not do very much and could make the hills look weird if I don’t do it right. So, would love some opinions on that.
  3. Overall composition, editing, color

I’m still a beginner but at least I knew enough to get what I needed in the field. Thanks in advance!!!

2 Likes

I never thought I’d see this again.I’m pretty sure I know where this is as I took this same picture about 30 years as a color slide. Yes if you get up early in the morning you’ll get richer reds and the sky will be blue. You might still be able to pull out some blue from that sky and the reds are certainly there. The composition is fine. I would just shoot at a different time of day.

I actually like the sun flare here and I don’t mind that the sky is a little bit blown out (though I could see just pulling a sliver more blue there). I think the sunflare adds drama to the “window” idea. I imagine that, without the flare, the effect of having that window as a compositional element is diminished.

At this size, the blend looks really nicely done and I really like the processing.

I’m not a huge fan of the sun flare but that is just a matter of taste (sun flares are not my thing) :wink: but I agree with @Adhika_Lie, if that flare wasn’t present, the window effect may not have worked.
I couldn’t find any problems with the blending.
The sky may be a bit over but I think it goes along with the softness (in tone) of the far mountains so not a problem at all for me.