5 Star dining

Critique Style Requested: In-depth

The photographer has shared comprehensive information about their intent and creative vision for this image. Please examine the details and offer feedback on how they can most effectively realize their vision.

Self Critique

What I like is the colors and the bird at sunset with the starfish, and the water draining from it. Where I have the problem is that the heron is so grainy. Is there any hope to salvage this image?

Creative direction

I wanted to be able to get some detail in the bird rather than a dark silhouette.

Specific Feedback

This is new to me, so I don’t have specifics and am open to any suggestions.

Technical Details

I did use lightroom AI noise reduction. I am relatively new with my 200-600mm lens and set F stop to 6.3 and shutter to 1/2000 to stop action as I was not too proficient at holding the lens still yet. Sony A7riv.

Description

I was sitting on the beach at low tide and sunset, facing the sun. Shore birds tend to feed here. This great blue heron was close by and was actively feeding. I kept my camera on him/her and shot off several frames each time the head went into the water and this was my result.

Hi Kathryn. Welcome to NPN and the Avian forum. First, I love the composition, the water and the starfish (and the punny title). The graininess of the heron may be salvageable and when viewed from a reasonable distance, probably wouldn’t show up much. You said you used the LR AI noise reduction and the background looks fine. Did you bring the exposure on the heron up after that? That would tend to amplify the noise in it and you might get somewhere by running another round of noise reduction in Photoshop. I also think you could go a little darker on the heron, which would reduce the issue (you’d have to go back to where you brightened it in the first place to make it work).