A slice of cake (+1 re-edit)

With suggestions applied -

On our final morning at Lake Superior pancake ice was starting to form and while only video can show exactly how its made (will get to processing that soon), I liked this little section and thought it might make an interesting abstract. Basically the ice sheet forms, breaks up and then the motion of the water causes the broken pieces to bump into each other. The longer they do that the more circular they become and the edges get thickly built up with smashed ice. I wish I could have stayed a few more days to see how it progressed.

Type of Critique Requested

• Aesthetic: Feedback on the overall visual appeal of the image, including its color, lighting, cropping, and composition.
  • Technical: Feedback on the technical aspects of the image, such as exposure, color, focus and reproduction of colors and details, post-processing, and print quality.

Specific Feedback and Self-Critique

Not being an avid abstract photographer I don’t know if this works or not. It was definitely the most interesting arrangement of the ice in view.

Technical Details

Handheld standing on a huge, ice-covered rock.

Lr for a biggish crop and some work to boost the colors and contrast. Added texture, clarity and some sharpening. Actually reduced saturation slightly since the reflection of the sky was pretty intense.

You have a wonderful intimate shot here, Kristen. Excellent job of seeing the dynamic ice. I like the image as is, but added a quick B&W conversion just for fun. More could be done to tweek the tones in the B&W. The color image displays the lake look. Perhaps the bright blue (sunny day) overwhelms the image a bit, just my perception on first and second looks at the image. NIce image. Your connection with nature shows through here - a lot. Wonderful.