American Kestrel Hovering w/2nd Repost

Restart from Scratch:

Sky color correction:

Original:

I’m a total novice when it comes to birds in flight. I’m actually pretty terrible at it. I lucked out with this Kestrel and got a pretty good hovering shot.

Specific Feedback Requested

Any comments appreciated.

Technical Details

600mm, 1/1000 sec @ f/8, ISO 250.

1 Like

I’d say so. Very nice facial detail and a slight wing blur.

1 Like

I like how you have composed this. I have never seen a kestrel, you have captured the details of the head and colours very well. Thanks for sharing.

David, a fine stop action hovering image of this Kestrel. I sure miss the one that visited the open area behind our block wall for years… :sunglasses:

Hi David,

A very nice pose and all this image needs is some adjustments to reduce the cyan/yellow color cast in the sky. Other than that, looks good and Happy Holidays…Jim

@Allen_Brooks, @Robena.Sirett, @Paul_Breitkreuz, and @Jim_Zablotny thanks for the kind words. Much appreciated.

Jim, I tweaked the sky color and reposted above. It was a rather flat sky, so a bit of white balance change made it bluer. Hope I didn’t go too far. I couldn’t see the color cast so thanks for pointing it out.

Wonderful shot! But your color-blindness has probably caused a strange correction for the sky. It may indeed have been on the cyan side but there is a yellow-cyan cast on the kestrel, too. I didn’t have success using Color Balance, as correcting the sky made the bird too reddish. Selective Color would have worked with more trouble, but I used the Camera Raw filter and got an easy fix by dialing down the cyan and adding just a bit of blue. Also brought up Shadows just a bit.

1 Like

I agree, the first thing I noticed is that it felt overly cyan. The bird was green. I’m still not sure this is exactly right but it’s a good step in the right direction for sure.

I think you’re right, @Eric_Bennett – I should have gone farther.