Aspens at thier Peak

This is my first attempt of doing ICM. I had a vision in mind with the aspens and I think this came close to what I was wanting.

Specific Feedback Requested

Open to anything

Technical Details

1 Like

This is the other ICM I took on the same day and same area.

1 Like

These are great! They look like paintings. Nice work!

Good morning Terry. These are some wonderful painterly images of aspens that have visual impact. Both images have a nice vertical motion. The first appears to have to partial circular pattern from the center to the top of the frame which is interesting. I think it goes well with the vertical lines of the aspen trunks. Awesome work trying out ICM techniques on these scenes.

My recommendation for both images would be to watch your edges especially on the left and right sides of the frame. I see some tree trunks that are partially cut off so perhaps a slight crop in would help fix that issue or you can darken those areas.

Terry,

Welcome aboard - both to NPN and the world of ICM! And thank you for your understanding about the image post. Don’t worry, navigating NPN takes a little getting used to, but you’re on your way!

Thesse images are a great start and trees, especially aspens with brightly colored/lit leaves, are awesome sujects. And what is nice about ICM is that you can play around at times when you might not even normally consider taking just a regular photo.

IMO, there are two extremes to the ICM technique - the first one is, creating an image that looks more like the tripod was kicked, or an accident, but not having enough motion. OR, the second where too much time and movement result in just a blur colors that make no sense at all. The good news is, there are many, many, many possibilities in between. And I think your first attempts fit nicely inbetween those extremes. There is just enough movement here to make it clear you wanted the motion blur and you chose a vertical motion.