Cycnoches Hybrid

First of all, I am an avian photographer and not a flora photographer. However, my wife grows and raises orchids and has well over 50 in our upstairs. So there is always something in bloom. She knows a lot of about plants; she is a master gardener, and I know nothing and plan to keep it that way currently. I’ve always had an interest in taking floral pictures and since I have a revolving gallery upstairs, I put together studio on wheels which will allow me to experiment with these images. I am open to any criticism and I will not take anything personally. What I know is what I’ve learned from the flora gallery on NPN. If anyone sees any image of an orchid that interests them or would like to know more let me know and I will go to the expert.

What technical feedback would you like if any? So this was taken using two 150 W LEDs on my rolling studio . With respect to white balance, what is the general rule of thumb when using LEDs for light source? The software has not caught up yet. Plus there are cool LEDs, daylight LEDs, and others. And yes I just calibrated my monitor to be sure that it didn’t look too weird.

What artistic feedback would you like if any? Any and all

Pertinent technical details or techniques: iso-100, 105 mm macro, F 11, 25th, D 850, tripod, no flash, essentially full frame. There is no cloning on this image. I set the depth of field to get all of the open flowers as in focus as possible.

(If the background has been replaced, etc. please be honest with your techniques to help others learn)

If you would like your image to be eligible for a feature on the NPN Instagram (@NaturePhotoNet), add the tag ‘ig’ and leave your Instagram username below.