Day End on Mt. Spokane - need General cc

My first time to WA state. Spent some time with friends in June doing lots of outdoor activities including hiking Mt. Spokane. We headed back down just before sunset and I’m a sucker for rays of light streaming through clouds. I’m still learning about composition and post processing and am looking for some general cc including color, crop, etc. My gut is telling me to crop the top of the sky out but not sure. Thanks In advance for the feedback!

@asliceofbrie2020

2 Likes

Hi Brie, I really like the lines coming down from the left and up from the lower left . Sso much of processing is based on what feelings you have about the experience. In this case you were struck by the rays. By increasing saturation and contrast, you can emphasize those. I also cropped.some left to delete some bright earth but you could.burn or clone also.

1 Like

Brie, this is a really nice image with interesting light. And I like your composition, with the diagonal line of the trees. I definitely would not crop anything away from the top, the light and clouds are what makes this image sing. If anything I wish you had a tiny bit more breathing room above the tops of the clouds.

I would offer a few suggestions to enhance the light rays in the distance (which to me are the star of the show here). First, I would burn down the bright tree trunks in the lower right corner, they are hot spots that pull your eye away from the rest of the image. I would slightly burn down the mid-ground. Sometimes the best way to emphasize something lighter like the light rays, is to darken the area around it. Then I think you could add some contrast in the sky and light rays themselves. You want to keep elements in the distance lighter and softer than things in the foreground, so be careful with not burning the mid-ground too much. Here is a rework reflecting my suggested tweaks.

2 Likes