Swirling

Image 8
Stretching

Image 9
River Goddess

Image 10
Japanese Noh Figure

Project Description

For me, this series of abstract aerials of rivers made in early fall in Iceland suggests human dancers, auroras, and perhaps the yearning, expressive spirit of the landscape itself.

Self Critique

I am wondering what emotions these images evoke. Do you prefer having the somewhat less abstract images included or should the human figures be their own series.

Creative Direction

Not sure. Considering a show or an artist’s book.

Specific Feedback

I am new to aerial photography. Are these technically proficient?

Intent of the project

Gallery Exhibition

Alternate Images

Please provide feedback on whether any of these images would fit more cohesively in the project.

Alternate Image 1

Alternate Image 2

1 Like

These are so evocative. Just dropping this here and will return when I have more time to devote.

Thank you. Will look forward to your feedback.

Hi again Irene,

I didn’t forget about you, but wanted to have the time and mental energy to spend with your photos. Here are my thoughts and impressions as I slowly made my way through them -

The first puts me in mind of the ocean…very small waves rippling in to change the shape of the sand around my feet and make me feel off kilter.

The second reminds me of aurora borealis photos in its shifting nature and layering.The bottom part is a natural “horizon line” and helps cement this feeling of fire and air rather than water and earth.

The third is almost 3D - the effect of the contouring is something you feel as though you could touch.

Fourth & fifth feel rotated and skewed somehow - as if the plain isn’t straight and the field isn’t plumb. It’s also (oddly) the most literal in terms of recognizing what I’m really seeing.