Great Egret

We saw quite a few Great Egrets on our swamp tour this past weekend. This one posed for us on a cypress branch with the trunk as a background.

Canon 90D, Sigma 150-600 C
ISO 800, f6.3, 1/2000s, hand held from boat

Any comments appreciated.

If you would like your image to be eligible for a feature on the NPN Instagram (@NaturePhotoNet), add the tag ‘ig’ and leave your Instagram username below.

@allensparks.wildlife

1 Like

That is a beauty Allen. Really nice composition with just enough of the branch showing. Pretty neat how there is a nice S curve in the neck. I am sure you looked to see if more details were available for viewing by toning done the whites. The little bit of trunk showing adds some depth to the photo.

Hi David, thanks for the comment! I did look closely at the whites and put the brightest areas close to 230, 230, 230 as I usually try to do. I am always afraid of graying out what is truly white in the search of more obvious detail. I am no expert in the process though so if you have any other insights that would be great.

Lovely pose and sharpness! I’m new here and not familiar with your processing so wondering what your adjustments were for the whites?

Hi Diane, thanks!
I process RAW files in Canon DPP. In this case, the image seemed under exposed overall so I just increased overall brightness by .33 putting the brightest whites in the range of 230, 230, 230. Of course the processing will vary based on the image and I may pull down the highlights alone (usually just using the highlights slider) if the whites seem over exposed some.

Hi Allen, I am like you and try to keep the whites “bright” and not look too grey or muddy. If there is some separation in the RGB values i might desatuarate the blues a bit, but otherwise it is just adjustment to whites values. This is a very white bird and probably fine feathers so might not be a lot you can do about feather detail.