Hood River Valley Twilight

This is an aerial shot of one of my favorite locations to photograph the stunning fruit orchards in Hood River, Oregon. This was in mid April this year. The sky was fairly boring, but I’m still pleased with how well the image came out, coming from a small drone camera. I got this drone late last year and took the FAA training and testing to become certified. Great experience.

Specific Feedback Requested

Any comments appreciated.

Technical Details

Is this a composite: No
DJI Mavic 2 Pro, Hassleblad camera and 10.3mm lens (28mm equivalent), 1/5 second @ f/4.5, ISO 100. About 200 feet above ground.

1 Like

Awesome capture! Nice flowing motion leading through the orchards towards Mt Hood!

Thanks Vanessa. I’m still learning the art of drone photography and videography…

1 Like

I would imagine that drone photography would be really hard because it’s not like your actually physically looking through the drone! I would probably crash it!

The hardest thing about flying a drone is that, unlike a pilot in an aircraft, if the drone is facing you, then right is left, left is right and forward is backward, backward is forward…you have to adjust your controls based on the direction of the drone. A pilot is always facing forward, like in a car…I get mixed up sometimes…but fortunately haven’t crashed yet. :grinning:

1 Like

Cool shot!! A Hassleblad on a drone?? Sounds like the nudge I need to scratch an increasing itch! A neighbor has a drone and he says he likes the goggles that put you in the cockpit, but there are arguments for being able to see the drone, too. Maybe an observer…

What is involved in the training and certification? (Do I get a leg up for having a commercial pilot’s license? Probably not, as I proved hopeless trying to fly my father-in-law’s radio-controlled model.)