I'm Huibo Hou, ask me anything!

Hi NPN, I’m very excited to answer your questions today! My name is Huibo Hou. I am a landscape photographer based in San Diego, California. I grew up in China and moved to the US in 1995 to pursue my graduate degree in Electrical and Computer Engineering. I then worked for a wireless communication company for 20+ years. Since 2018 I have been a full-time mom and a landscape photographer (whenever I can).

My main passion is black and white photography. I guess we all have our favorite genre and our own favorite way of creating. On the other hand, I don’t photograph exclusively in black and white. I think color and BW each have their own strength. You can see my work on my website https://www.huibohou.com/.

Like many landscape photographers, I am progressing from photographing grand landscapes to also paying attention to smaller scenes and from single best-moment images to using series for better story-telling. These are the areas that I am working on and trying to get better at.

I am open to and looking forward to answering any questions that are related to photography.

AMA Rules:

• Please only ask one question by replying to this topic a single time, using the yellow Reply button at the bottom. It’s also helpful to scroll to the bottom while reading the topic to make sure nobody else has asked the same question first before you ask.
  • Please don’t ask more than one question, so everyone gets a chance.
  • Please do not reply to anyone else’s post. The only purpose of replies on this topic is to ask the author one question. Please create a new topic if you’d like to discuss a related topic in more detail.

Posts not following these guidelines may be removed by moderators to keep the Q&A flowing smoothly. Thank you!

Turn off Notifications for Events