Hello NPN! I'm Jack Curran Ask Me Anything! Let's talk B&W and Landscape

Hi NPN!

My name is Jack Curran. I’m am incredibly excited to be a member of the awesome NPN community and for the opportunity to share and answer your Ask Me Anything questions. You can see my work at www.jackcurranphotography.com and follow me on Facebook, Instagram and YouTube at /jackcurranphotography, where I post new work and share free short-form tutorials.

I’ve been shooting black and white landscapes for just over 40 years. Having had an epiphany at on an Outward Bound course at age 16, it was nature and the great outdoors from that day on. I picked up a camera at 18 and took an introduction to Black and White photography during my freshman year in college and well, as the story goes, it was all uphill from there. Off I went with my $100 35mm camera and my one lens! Soon afterwards, I begged and got a job at a commercial photo lab and studio, which quickly led to shooting 4x5 and 8x10 commercial work (tabletop and fashion) as well as developing and printing my work in the darkroom for over 30 years. The allure of the landscape has never left me. To this day, I still feel like I’m just getting started. There are two things that I’m genuinely passionate about 1. Being out in the landscape and 2. Sharing with others what I’ve learned. To that end, I’m incredibly excited to be an instructor at the upcoming Out of Yosemite Conference in February 2020, where I will be leading class instruction and in-field workshops with some of the very best landscape photographers, including one of my favorite B&W photographers John Sexton. (I could provide a full list if it makes sense?)

I’m excited to be answering your questions for the next 24 hours starting October 25th.