My sideline

Critique Style Requested: Standard

The photographer is looking for generalized feedback about the aesthetic and technical qualities of their image.

Description

So it’s been a crap winter and I’ve revived my jewelry business again and so a BIG part of that is product photography. I have NO experience with studio work and am struggling to figure out how to minimize reflections, yet show that I do, in fact, polish my pieces highly when that’s what I’m going for.

Specific Feedback

So…I guess I’m looking for ideas. I really don’t want to go crazy with a whole studio set up, but would like to utilize natural light for most of the shots. Not only is it easier, but it’s in line with the aesthetic that Etsy goes for and promotes. But, I’m willing to get some input from you guys. This is a recent set of shots for a new product.

Technical Details

Mostly these are shot in manual with a lot of leaning toward high key. I also edit them with a similar vibe in mind. Lightroom for that as always.

HOWEVER - they do need to show the product as it is and not misrepresent color or finish etc.

Tripod, my G9 and 45mm f/2.8 Leica macro. Various reflectors sometimes and my LED panel light when needed. It’s crazy and I have everything basically strewn all over the guest room for most of the time.

Cool! A good winter project. I think the top one shows the geometry best and looks very natural with nice shadows. The fabric is a nice BG and simple window light is hard to beat. With such complex shapes it might be effective to use a polarizer and shoot 2-3 with different orientations of it for the different pieces (or different parts of each one) and mask the best of each. The top one is more balanced with a little taken off the top. I like the suggestion of a vine tip. Maybe intertwine the two?