Pelicans at sunset

Hi, I’m new and this is my first post. I went to the Oregon Coast the week before last with my wife and a large group of Pelicans were diving into the surf. I was able to shoot a number of shots as the sun set and this is my favorite, although I am not that experienced at post so any thoughts would be appreciated

What technical feedback would you like if any?

Pretty much any

What artistic feedback would you like if any?

Pretty much any

Any pertinent technical details:

Fuji XT-2, XF 100-400 with 1.4x extender, 500mm, f7.7, 1/2000, iso 5000, handheld standing in the surf.

Allow other members to download your photo to demonstrate processing examples only?

yes

I love the wild gyrations of the pelicans! Most images you see are staid portraits or soaring, but to me this shouts Pelican! I love to watch them feed.

While the seas and sky don’t pop, I think a whole lot could be done with the pelicans themselves and the background would matter less. Lots of roads to that Mecca, but I’m betting you could accomplish the most in a RAW processor if they were shot in RAW, or in Photoshop’s RAW filter if shot in JPEG.

I see that you’re okay with downloads, so if I get a chance this morning I’ll do so and give it a quick pass to illustrate my words.

Thanks for the feedback @Hank_Pennington. I agree that more can be done with the pelicans but I can’t decided which direction to go. Thanks for taking the time to help me out with it and I look forward to seeing your suggestions.