Red Blaze

A couple of weeks ago, my wife and I had the loan of a friend’s northern getaway retreat. It was the last of summer – three glorious days of sun and warmth – and it was the absolute peak colour in the forest all around us. Photographically speaking, you would think those would be prime conditions to gather the low hanging fruit. But in my short time as a photographer, I have found taking pictures of the fall colours very challenging – they always seem to come out like post cards or a calendar page. There is nothing wrong with post cards or calendars but making those kinds of images isn’t what photography is about for me. Originally, I thought I’d just ignore the colours and work more intimately with other things that interest me. And I did. But the colours … I felt I had to at least try to find ways of translating the splendour all around me without being clichéd. This is one attempt.

A technical note: I shoot with a Fujifilm Xt-2 and, when I’m shooting outdoors, generally set it to the Velvia film simulation mode. The original Velvia film was introduced by Fuji back in 1990 and supplanted Kodachrome 25 as the go to film for high definition, richness, brightness and colour accuracy. I’m told that the simulated version on Fujifilm cameras does a pretty nice job of replicating the film but in the case of this series of fall colour images, I found it got a bit over the top and I chose to reduce the saturation. I wanted to retain the brightness and saturated feel of what I experienced as I made the pictures in the field, but I didn’t want the colours to be so intense as to feel pushed and unnatural. The birch trees in this picture did have a grey-blue cast, which is somewhat amplified by the Velvia simulation. But I decided, I liked how it felt – a nice compliment to the dominant reds and greens.
I would like to get some feedback both on the colour palette I’ve settled on here and the extent to which I’ve succeeded in avoiding autumnal cliché.

3 Likes