RWBB calling

Critique Style Requested: Standard

The photographer is looking for generalized feedback about the aesthetic and technical qualities of their image.

Description

Seen recently at a local park.

Specific Feedback

Any comments appreciated.

Technical Details

Canon R7, 400mm f4 DO IS II, 1.4x extender III, monopod
ISO 2500, f5.6, 1/2500s

Processed in DXO Pure Raw 3 and Photoshop.

1 Like

I love the circle formed by the wings and tail, Allen. It was the perfect angle to get this bird. The blacks look good, but I think you could use that new color picker in LR and boost the luminosity in the reds a bit to make them really pop.

1 Like

You caught the RWBB in a rather unique pose. Nice look at the shoulder patches and singing as well. Nice one.

1 Like

Allen, this is certainly a “stop and look at me” shot. How lucky is that. The ladies certainly must be paying attention. How long did he pose for you? I am a newbie at all of this. I would like to know your thinking for the settings you used?

1 Like

Hi Barbara, thanks for the comment.
As far as settings, I was mostly trying for flight shots of RWBBs and kingfishers there at the pond. It was cloudy that morning so I needed to use a somewhat high ISO to get the shutter speed for flight shots. I chose ISO 2500 because I knew I would get clean files using DXO Pure Raw 3. The aperture was wide open to achieve the fast shutter speed. While I tried to track this bird in flight between perches, he landed close to me and briefly called out. This pose came and went quite rapidly. I was shooting at 30 fps and got three similar frames with this being the only complete “circle”.
Hope that answers your question.

1 Like