San Juan Mountains Afternoon + Rework

REWORK (to give it more oomph, per suggestions):

ORIGINAL:

I just did the Expressive Fall Colors workshop with David & Jennifer and it was great. D & J are wonderful workshop leaders, taking us to scenic spots and helping us with whatever questions we had.

The emphasis was to be on smaller, expressive scenes, but we couldn’t resist the grand landscape when it was right in front of our eyes. Even me - lol. Here is one of my attempts at the grand landscape. It was hard to go wrong with such beautiful light and grand mountains.

Specific Feedback Requested

Any comments welcome - this is not my forte, so I’ll accept any advice. :slight_smile:

Technical Details

a7r3, f/16, 220 mm, 1/160s, ISO 400, polarizer. Basic burning & dodging, some slight color adjustments, a bit of a crop.

2 Likes

Hi Bonnie,

I am by no means an expert but i love this image. I am sure others will give you better technical advice, but since I visited the San Juan mountains last month for the first time, I fell in love with the grandeur. I love the clouds in the background and the sprinkling of light on the trees that are just starting to show the fall colors. Thank you for posting. If you were happy with D&J and can share more info on them I would appreciate it. Take care.

@Bonnie_Lampley - A beautiful scene in one of the most beautiful and amazing parts of Colorado (Yeah… I’m biased since I grew up in Southwest Colorado).

I like the composition with the 3 distinctive layers of the aspens, the mountains and the sky. The image has so much interest visually.

I do think there is more in your raw file that could make this image even better.

I did a little work on the jpeg and maybe pushed it a bit further than needed, but hopefully to see what is there.