Steam's up

I photographed this small section of a steam train’s ‘workings’ (as you can tell I am not an engineer) at a heritage festival a wee while back. Although not a train enthusiast, I was totally captured by the dynamics of this part of the train.

Type of Critique Requested

• Aesthetic: Feedback on the overall visual appeal of the image, including its color, lighting, cropping, and composition.
  • Emotional: Feedback on the emotional impact and artistic value of the image.
  • Technical: Feedback on the technical aspects of the image, such as exposure, color, focus and reproduction of colors and details, post-processing, and print quality.

Specific Feedback and Self-Critique

At the time, I was fascinated by the noise, the steam, the smell of oil etc. Just loved it. I hope the image conveys that feeling that goes along with being close to a working steam train.
I took the photo mostly because I liked the way the steam was creating a diffuse glow around the brass and copper parts that had obviously been polished before the festival.
Any comments are very welcolme.

Technical Details

1/60s, F8, ISO 100
46mm

Cropped, tonal adjustements, in LR.

1 Like

Hi Phil,

1. Yeah, same here, I have always enjoyed being around old steam engines whether they were trains or power sources for line shaft type machine shops, factories, sawmills, etc. Something about that steam, and oil smell that’s fascinating, I preferred the old wood fired systems as opposed to coal, coal just doesn’t smell good but wood does :slight_smile:

2. To me the image does a great job at reminding me of those smells and sounds, and the motion of the visible moving parts. I suppose it might not be that way for people that have never been around such things.

3. You’re right, it does create a nice diffuse glow effect, I like it! :slight_smile: