Then there were butterflies everywhere

Queen - f/7.1, 1/640 sec., ISO 800 @ 300mm

Queen - f/7.1, 1/800sec., ISO1250 @210mm

Southern Broken Dash - f/7.1, 1/2000sec., ISO800 @210mm

Black swallowtail - f/7.1, 1/400sec., ISO800 @300mm

Black swallowtail - f/7.1, 1/400sec., ISO 800 @210mm

Much to my dismay, this past summer we had next to no spiders, grasshoppers, snails, frogs . . .or butterflies! Then for some reason, yesterday we had a swarm of butterflies. The ones I could ID included; Western Tiger Swallowtail, Sulphurs, Queen, Black Swallowtail and Southern Broken Dash moth. This series of photo doesn’t even come close to the wonderful images I’ve seen others post this summer, however, at least for me, the series is more about the moment of enjoying the show.
I cropped all of them, did basic highlight/shadow and cloning in ACR. In PS added freehand vignette and some adjustment in channel mixer.
Since I am not experienced in photographing butterflies and was out of my element, I am interested if the backgrounds are too busy? Do the settings seem reasonable for this type of photography? Since I did not do any noise reduction, can you detect any? Any other thoughts and/or suggestion?

Nikon Z6ii, polarizer and handheld.

1 Like

Linda, what a great series of shots of butterflies! I know what you mean though, very few here this summer, and when/if they were, I didn’t have the camera out there with me. It was just so hot. Now everything is dying off. It looks like you had fun capturing all of these though. I am so glad for you.

Very nice phots of these butterflies Linda. Not being experienced as you stated, I think you did awesome. I see no noise in the background and it amazes me that he flowers and background look exactly like the area I have been going even though I am in AZ.

1 Like