Toadstool #2

This toadstool was growing on top of a log, under dense overhead foliage. It was a mostly sunny day and there was a light breeze blowing the tree canopy around. So the sunlight filtering through the canopy was difficult to work with.
To illuminate the subject, I used a DIY reflector. I waited to where the breeze stopped blowing the tree canopy around and I had a spot of bright sunlight filter through the leaves to the forest floor.
With the diameter of the log, I wasn’t able to get close to the subject with the equipment I had. I knew at the time of shooting I would have to crop and this photo is cropped quite a bit.

Specific Feedback Requested

This is my first time submitting and if I do things correctly there are two photos. Same photo, cropped differently. My basic question is about cropping. Which is better? I like the photo with more space around the subject. But does that leave too much space? The ratio is 4:6.
Also what are your thoughts about the sharpness of the subject. Is the softness of the stem too much? Given the lighting conditions, stacking was next to impossible.
All CC on the photo is welcomed.

Technical Details

f11 | 1/4s | ISO 100 | 100mm Canon 5D IV with a EF100mm macro lens. Processed using ACR and Photoshop.

2 Likes

Welcome to the NPN community, David. This is a wonderful place to connect with like minded photographers. The platform of give and take of photos is outstanding. There are plenty of experienced photographers who are very helpful and your comments and suggestions are also encouraged.
As to your photo, it is lovely . The detail in the dome of the mushroom is nicely done. And the lighting is soft enough is enhance the detail and create a wonderful glow feel. As to the crop, I tend to prefer the cropped version as it brings the mushroom closer to view, while still leaving enough of the environment. But that just me.
This is a great first post and we look forward to more of images.