Y. brevifolia

I was wandering around after taking photos at sunrise in Joshua Tree NP when this Joshua Tree branch stood out to me. I liked the patterns the light created.

What technical feedback would you like if any?

Any comments are welcome.

What artistic feedback would you like if any?

Any comments are welcome

Pertinent technical details or techniques:

1/20 sec at f/16, ISO 64
200mm (70-200mm f/4)
Nikon D850 on tripod

If you would like your image to be eligible for a feature on the NPN Instagram

@sigfridozimmermann

You may only download this image to demonstrate post-processing techniques.

I like the idea and i think this is a solid base for another tweaking. I am not an expert,but i believe most of this kind of shots work a lot with separation of darker and ligjter tones/color so the structure. Important areas stand out only and the others serve as “negative space” . I hope some more skilled shooter will provide “better” ideas, because I might not be clear/precise enough.

1 Like

Sigfriedo, this is a fine looking graphic. Your square crop and very slightly off center placement works very well. I think you’ve set the contrast well. You could bump the contrast, but that would make this more stark where I this as dramatic and inviting as presented. Those kind of choices are the fundamentals of developing a personal style.

1 Like

I like the composition, Sigfrido. Very well seen and this is perfect light, too, to accentuate all those leaves. As for critiques, I think the image can go a little brighter and I think it can use some sharpening, too.

1 Like

Striking lines and nice light! The leaves away from the center and in the back are getting soft, but it doesn’t bother me so much in this composition. The center maybe could use some extra sharpness as Adhika wrote. I would maybe play with a soft vignette and contrasts to emphasize the lines and locations where the light is hitting.

1 Like