Cockle Beach

OK, please don’t laugh. This is my first attempt at this kind of photography. Unsure what category this even belongs to… close up, photo art, nature, seascape???

Anyways, had a great blast this afternoon chasing various shells around a low water mark at my local beach. This was more difficult than I thought as I didn’t realise how much they move around in the swell. Trying to pin these guys down for just a second so I could take a shot was a real challenge.

Any thoughts about the image would be most welcome, would love to find out more about this fascinating side of photography. If you know of any resources to share I would be most interested.

Pertinent technical details or techniques:

Sony ILCE-7RM3 / FE 70-200mm F4 G OSS / Tripod
ISO 100 - 200mm - f/11 - 1/6sec

You may only download this image to demonstrate post-processing techniques.
2 Likes

I have no idea who’s doing this kind of stuff, John. I seem to recall something similar not too long ago and I think it was either @Allen_Brooks or @David_Bogener, but I could be wrong. I really like what you’ve done here and I never would have thought of using such a slow shutter sped, but it seems effective. Very nicely done, and I look forward to seeing more in this vein.

John: Wow, first pitch home run! I like this and the subtle motion in the sand. Terrific color palette as well. Superbly crafted image. :+1::clap::+1::clap:>=))>

I think you’re onto something really neat John, but for it to really work for me I’d like to see more definition and focus on the umbros. I’m sure you played with the shutter speed, so I’m wondering about the effects of more and less. Not a criticism on that, rather curiosity how changes in the moving water and sand affect the overall image.

Well done, John. A difficult image to capture, but you pretty much nailed it.:clap:

Hey guys, thanks all for taking the time to critique.