First image - Painted lady

I am new to close-up/macro photography, but I have enjoyed the summer finding plants & animals in places that most people pass by. I have posted this image because whilst it lacks some sharpness and definition I like the overall content. I like the use of the butterfly’s camouflage against a man-made material, (concrete on an old WWII gun emplacement), and the contrast with the vivid green of the new blackberry leaves.
I looking at the other posts in the group I see that I have much to learn… but I think that I will enjoy the journey.

What technical feedback would you like if any?

How do I get a better overall sharpness

What artistic feedback would you like if any?

Any tips or comments will be welcomed

Pertinent technical details or techniques:

Lumix GX8 Panasonic 100-400 @160mm 1/400 f13 (not my chosen lens for this type of shot but it happened to be on the camera)

If you would like your image to be eligible for a feature on the NPN Instagram (@NaturePhotoNet), add the tag ‘ig’ and leave your Instagram username below.
You may only download this image to demonstrate post-processing techniques.

Ryan, Welcome to NPN! This is an interesting idea. The match between the aged butterfly and the concrete is a point of interest as is the contrast with the green blackberry leaves. This view would be improved if that out of focus twig wasn’t there, but moving it without disturbing the would be a challenge. I think the softness of the butterfly is a result of your camera back not being parallel with the concrete. The blackerry is nicely sharp as are the stones in the concrete underneath the bf. In macro, the very limited depth-of-field plays a major role in how the images turn out.