Ladybug on Lavender

Critique Style Requested: Standard

The photographer is looking for generalized feedback about the aesthetic and technical qualities of their image.

Description

I was visiting a new lavender farm in Central Coast of CA, early morning. My friend pointed out the ladybug and I loved the contrast of the red ladybug on the deep purple of the lavender.

Specific Feedback

This is my first time posting so I’m a little nervous about this…
I love the 3 stems of lavender in the foreground as well as the softer flowers in the background. However, I want to print this and am wondering if the edges need to be cropped as the flowers there may be distracting. At the same time, I would like to print this at 11x14 and if I do crop the sides, I’ll lose either the top of bottom of the main stems. I’d appreciate any feedback on the edges issue, where and how to crop, as well as the image in general. Open to any/all suggestions. Thank you!

Technical Details

1/4000, f4, 100mm, editing in Lightroom

Hi and welcome to NPN Madeline - don’t be nervous, we’re all here to help each other and improve our craft. A lovely introductory image for sure. I haven’t spent time in a lavender field, only drove by some, but now I regret not stopping. Good on your friend for spotting and pointing out the ladybug. It stands out really well and makes a nice counterpoint to the flowers.

Overall I think this has potential. Exposure looks good as does the white balance. If I was standing next to you I might have moved over slightly to separate the stalk the bug is on from the ones immediately behind and to the right. Separation is key when things are this far apart to begin with. If they were more densely planted, a looser composition can work well.