October is my Favorite Color

The title, “October is my Favorite Color” pretty much sums up my feelings about autumn in New England. I have been chasing autumn color for over 25 years, and still enjoy the beauty of October. This year was very strange weather-wise. Record cold in mid-September created peak color in northern New England during the last week of September, almost 2 weeks earlier than normal. This was followed by warm weather in October that led to normal times for peak color in southern New England. By moving from north to south, I have been shooting peak color for 4 consecutive weeks now, and it should hold for another week.

In autumn, I normally find myself attracted to the grand landscape, and bodies of water, such as ponds, rivers, and waterfalls. A severe drought this summer dried up many bodies of water and waterfalls, essentially taking those subjects off the table. And due to Covid, I wanted to to avoid the larger than normal crowds of people getting outdoors at the overlooks and trails that I usually visit.

So this year I decided instead to concentrate my efforts on shooting intimate fall scenes in the woods. This image was taken on 10/13 near the Quabbin Reservoir in Massachusetts. Luckily the drought ended in time for October to have a number of rainy, overcast days, perfect conditions for shooting tree portraits. Red Maples are my favorite tree, but here I decided to use it as a frame rather than the main subject.

What artistic feedback would you like if any?

Any critique or comments are welcome

Pertinent technical details or techniques:

Canon 5D MKIV, Canon 70-200mm f4 lens, at 200mm, ISO 400, 1/15sec at f11

5 Likes

Ed, for me it’s always difficult to give a comment that makes sense. For this one and your story that goes with it. I can only see those beautiful colors and a nice composition, with the trees keeping my view in the image.